Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
The forms can be obtained at the police station. Or you can download the proper forms off the internet. Print the form, fill out ALL necessary information and bring it to the police station.
Show All Answers
Contact Officer Jeffrey Brouck at 978-983-8751. Licenses and FID cards are issued by appointment only.
You must be 21 years of age.
No, provided the applicant is over the age of 17. The Law regarding the requirement for FID-M for chemical propellant/mace changed in August 2014. Massachusetts no longer requires a license for this purpose for adults over 17. If the applicant is between the ages of 14 and 17, the applicant will need a FID-M to lawfully carry/possess chemical propellant/mace. A certificate from your parent or guardian granting permission will also be required.
Fifteen years old. Ages 15, 16 or 17 you must submit with your application a certificate from your parent or guardian granting permission for the card.
Yes. You must notify, in writing, the licensing authority who issued the license, the Chief of Police into whose jurisdiction you move to and the Executive Director of the Criminal History Systems Board. Notification must be by certified mail within 30 days.
Not right away. You can possess any firearm, rifle or shotgun for up to 60 days without a LTC or FID card. You cannot lawfully carry these items, you can only possessthem in your residence. You will need to complete a Massachusetts State Police Basic Firearm Safety Course in order to apply for your license as Massachusetts does not recognize safety courses from other states.
A LTC allows you to purchase, possess, use and carry large and non- large capacity firearms, rifles, shotguns, feeding devices and ammunitio
Yes. This is true for both LTC and FID cards. You must produce a valid license on demand. If you do not, the police can take your firearm until you produce such license. However, any inappropriate act while carrying a firearm may result in the immediate revocation of the license.
Carrying a loaded firearm under a Class A license must be under your direct control. It cannot be under the seat, in the trunk, etc. This carries a $500 fine if violated.